Inspiration Strikes (Well, Kinda)

October 24, 2006

So, I’ve been trying to get a better handle on my time (as I’m sure you’ve all been able to extrapolate from all the posts on time and such). I just came out of a phase where I tried to schedule my day down to the t, with a little reminder of every time 30 minutes passed. Long story short, it didn’t really work out that well. It felt great at first, but very quickly it all fell apart and pretty soon I felt more like shit than not when using that system.

So now I’ve done the complete opposite. I’ve lived without any sort of system for the past few days (since about mid-Saturday), and the effect has been nice. Well, it was nice on the weekends when I didn’t have any scheduled obligations. With classes starting, I’ve felt that same nagging feeling that I had with the super-schedule, though a little less intense. I definitely like the “no time” method more, but I think I need to add some additional boundaries for it to really work.

But first, I made up a theoretical schema of how I spend my time, on average, every week. I’ll post it here just for you!

my-time.jpg

Aren’t pie charts just too freaking gorgeous? But I digress…

As you can see, I have a pretty action packed day (that is, if you consider meditation, blog writing, and journalling to be action packed…). Though that action packed-ness still leaves me with about 6 hours of unplanned time on average every day (assuming only 7 hours of sleep, which I should really work on) that just kind of sits there. Not doing much. Like money not put into a bank.

Well, I have to go get some laundry. But I’ll be sure to update this later as my plan for time management continues to unfold. Until then, make sure your fly is up!

Namaste.

One Response to “Inspiration Strikes (Well, Kinda)”

  1. Dave in the West said

    how adorable

Leave a Reply

