Two Roads Diverged (Again…)

October 25, 2006

So I find myself once again standing at a crossroad. For real this time. Not my usual “wells” and “maybes.” I’m really starting to reconsider my major. I know, I don’t actually have a major yet. But I’ve been telling everyone that I’m going to be a Chem major. I must now say that I’m not so sure about that.

Now, don’t worry, I’m not pulling out the philosophy or religious studies rabbits from my proverbial hat yet. But I am seriously considering a major in either neuroscience or psychology. Leaning more towards neuroscience (though the neuroscience program here is pretty nascent).

I just can’t see myself honestly doing chemistry for the rest of my life. I hear my brother talk about the research he’s doing, and he sounds so excited about it. And I just think, “Yeah, uh huh? Where’s the beef?” (how’s that for vegetarian!) Not that I don’t think what he’s doing is cool, I just don’t want to do it.

Who knows. I’ve only had a single semester of chem here, and it’s been gen chem. Nothing all that exciting there. Maybe organic will spark my interest. Or maybe I’ll just end up doing something completely random.

Two roads diverged, and I sat down and tried to figure out which one to take…

2 Responses to “Two Roads Diverged (Again…)”

  1. […] Well, as a continuation of the Two Roads post, I thought I might make my journey towards a major a while big blogging project! I could even change the title of this blog to “What will Dave major in”! I could, but I won’t. […]

  2. Laura said

    dave.

    omg
    weirrrrrrrrrd im feeling like the same way
    like seriously
    i dont know whats goin on with this chem thing. like during lab im like wow this could be my life and im not sure if im into that. i dunno might just be a phase. they do have this program here called cognitive science, which is like a mix of biology n psychology mostly. its looking quite interesting at the moment. :)

Leave a Reply

