Why not eat meat? Where to begin?

December 13, 2006

The person who is afraid to alter his living habits, and especially his eating and drinking habits, because he is afraid that other persons may regard him as queer, eccentric, or fanatic forgets that the ownership of his body, the responsibility for its well-being, belongs to him, not them.

~ Dr. Paul Brunton

People often say that humans have always eaten animals, as if this is a justification for continuing the practice. According to this logic, we should not try to prevent people from murdering other people, since this has also been done since the earliest of times.

~ Isaac Singer

Just two highlights of dozens of quotes compiled about vegetarianism here. Good reads. I’m always surprised to see how many great men were vegetarians. But when I think about it, it makes perfect sense. How wouldn’t they come to the same conclusion, given all the same evidence?

Enjoy.

One Response to “Why not eat meat? Where to begin?”

  1. Dave in the West said

    So remind me why murdering people is wrong again?

    JK Dave, lol.

    On a note that I would agree with, if people were to justify believing in god because people always have, that would be crappy logic.

    And actually, I was strangely thinking about this at work. Remembering all of the silly slogans for meat eaters. Like, now let’s use our manliness to consume that steak!

    Actually, I made that one up, but it’s kinda like one of those superbowl comercials that says, “Because the only thing better than meat and potatoes, is meat and meat.”

    I mean, I suppose the only thing that tends to bother me about vegetarians is that pure plant source food is not always available wherever you go, then they say, “that’s ok, I don’t want any,” when really, they’re hungry as fuck. If I had a beef with the meat industry, I would eat grains and stuff if they were available, but all options exhausted, I’d eat the meat.

    Not placing any blame or anything… just kinda expressing my feelings.

Leave a Reply

