Hate: The Gift that Keeps on Giving

December 30, 2006

I saw this in a the “Hows it hanging Saddam” [sic] Facebook group.

I wonder if they really hate Saddam that much. Or if they just learned to hate him from the media.

Because I don’t hate him that much. Maybe I should. Maybe if I knew everything they knew, I’d hate him with that much fury.

Or maybe they’re just a bunch of kids trying to blow off steam. So they pick a target and unload.

I don’t support Saddam. I don’t agree with how he handled governing his country. I don’t think he should get away unscathed.

But I don’t know how I could hate him. I don’t know him. I never met him.

Maybe the world’s a better place without him. Or maybe it’s worse off if it leads to more reckless hate.

Namaste.

3 Responses to “Hate: The Gift that Keeps on Giving”

  1. Dave in the West said

    ho ho, he he, haaaaaaaaaaaaaa

  2. Mrs. O said

    Hi Dave, I found this link through Kevin, and I had to comment. I agree, although Saddam was not the best leader in the world, I don’t know why our govt and/or the media are fixated on him as the devil incarnate. I mean, there are people in power in other countries that have committed at least as many atrocities as he did and we are not starting wars against their countries to oust them. And honestly, think about how many Iraqui citizens have died since Saddam was ousted? Saddam was tried mainly for ordering an attack on a town which resulted in 150 men killed and 1500 people jailed and tortured. That is horrible obviously but at least 150,000 Iraqi citizens have been killed since Saddam was ousted (or as much as 650,000 according to the Lancet).

    I don’t hate Saddam either, I hope (but doubt) that the present govt in Iraq will be able to keep that country together at least as well as he did (which will be difficult if not impossible to do while also setting up a “democratic” country).

    Ok that’s enough just wanted to share my 2 cents.
    -Kelly

  3. Dilbert said

    Typical liberal. You’d support BILL FREAKING CLINTON

Leave a Reply

