The “Liberal” Media Strikes Again -Or- Why I’m (Less) Proud to be an American

February 8, 2007

On CNN recently, they had a segment on how (or how not) atheists have been under (on the) attack in this country. Here’s the first part of the segment from YouTube:

Okay, that’s pretty fair and balanced. I wouldn’t say there’s too much of a slant. Both atheists and a Christian get to talk. Very American.

But then the next segment comes on, here:

Okay, totally NOT fair and balanced. First, no atheist in sight to give his / her opinion. Instead, we get three Judeo-Christians, one Judeo and two Christians, blathering on about how atheists should just “shut up.” Okay, well, the guy from ESPN says they should be able to talk [even though they’re so OBVIOUSLY wrong].

Sorry, but why should the atheists shut up? This is a Christian nation, huh? Last time I checked, we didn’t have a State Religion. I’m pretty sure that was half the point of coming over here. And if you’re going to pull that, “but the founding fathers had it in mind” card, sorry, not so. At least not Jefferson, or Washington, or Franklin. You don’t get much more founding father than that.

I just don’t get it. If CNN is the “liberal media,” then why are they having a ‘debate’ about atheism that’s so inherently one sided? Just goes to show you how far right the liberals have gone. Sigh.

PS – I don’t agree with militant atheism. It’s kind of like militant communism. Both the ideas, minus the militant part, are great. But just add that m word and you have a recipe for disaster. Plus, why be an atheist? Or even a nontheist? Why define yourself by something that you don’t think about? At least in my case, I wouldn’t call myself an atheist or an agnostic, really. I don’t honestly give much thought to God [and I would wager a good amount of money that most “Christians” don’t either]. I’d prefer to think of myself in more positive (as in not the negation of other) terms, like a humanist. Or even more fun, a transhumanist.

But on that note, here’s some militant atheism I do so enjoy. Judith, by A Perfect Circle:

You’re such an inspiration for the ways
That I’ll never ever choose to be
Oh so many ways for me to show you
How the savior has abandoned you
F*ck your God
Your Lord and your Christ
He did this
Took all you had and
Left you this way
Still you pray, you never stray
Never taste of the fruit
You never thought to question why

It’s not like you killed someone
It’s not like you drove a hateful spear into his side
Praise the one who left you
Broken down and paralyzed
He did it all for you
He did it all for you

Oh so many many ways for me to show you
How your dogma has abandoned you
Pray to your Christ, to your god
Never taste of the fruit
Never stray, never break
Never—choke on a lie
Even though he’s the one who did this to you
You never thought to question why

Not like you killed someone
It’s Not like you drove a spiteful spear into his side
Talk to Jesus Christ
As if he knows the reasons why
He did it all for you
Did it all for you
He did it all for you

[Thanks to Integral Options Cafe for pointing me to these videos]

One Response to “The “Liberal” Media Strikes Again -Or- Why I’m (Less) Proud to be an American”

  1. Davum said

    Wooooooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwww…. I think I almost shat myself after watching that second video. It like bumped me back into my cannibalism phase.

    Yeah… I especially like how everyone agrees that we’re a christian nation. I think everyone forgot something…. oh, you know… the 1st amendment?

    And what the fuck is this bullshit about… ehrrrr… freedom of religion isn’t freedom from religion… I do what a want, bitch! Man, if that was me living in that neighborhood… oh… there would be fists thrown. I swear to [non-anthropomorphic force]. If someone discriminated me because of my religion… as in, like kicked me out of my house, I’d fucking kill them. I would just be so pissed off that I would fucking bite their nuts and/or breasts off.

    Thanks for this Dave… although… I did enjoy the song at the end. It made me feel a little better. I had no fucking idea america was so retarted. Thanks for the wakeup call.

Leave a Reply

