Someday, I’d like to be a phototroph…

March 26, 2007

First discovered in marine organisms in 2000, scientists recently found that the genes for the proteorhodopsin system–essentially a genetic module that includes the genes that code for both the protein and the enzymes required to produce retinal–are frequently swapped among different microorganisms in the ocean. (While we usually think of genes being passed from parent to offspring, microorganisms can exchange bits of DNA laterally.)

Intrigued by the prospect that a single piece of DNA is really all an organism needs to harvest energy from light, the researchers inserted it into E. coli.

~ From Engineering Bacteria to Harvest Light

Dude, sign me up!

Okay, sure, I know they don’t me this will work in eukaryotes [i.e. you and me]. But wouldn’t that just be wicked cool? I mean, I like food and all. But at times it jsut feels like having to eat gets in the way of, well, living.

That might just be me…

Someday, I’ll have a photosynthetic system in me. And then I’ll be a true veggie. Not just a vegetarian.

;)

One Response to “Someday, I’d like to be a phototroph…”

  1. Dave in the West said

    dude… although the not eating would make me sad…

    Pretty sweet though.

Leave a Reply

