Feeling Positively Musical [and a little melancholy]

July 3, 2007

Well, to be honest, I don’t feel melancholy at all. But I feel like listening to melancholy music. What a weird combination, right? Well, that’s what happens when I start listening to music that isn’t solely produced by Maynard James Keenan. It feels good to return to the normal musical world. Even if just for a little while.

And who do I have to thank for all of this [well, other than Dave for turning me on to the station]: Radio 104.5. My god, it’s like Y100 before it turned into gay. With no DJ’s, few commercials, and tons and tons of great alternative music. It’s like musical nirvana. Or something like that. Perhaps an oasis in the desert that is Philadelphia radio. I love getting my Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and REM mixed in with some Incubus, Green Day, and Trapt. Yes, yes, yes!

So, on that note, here are two songs that have been on the station [and a Maynard number] that I really dig at the moment. Just in case you were wondering.

First up is 3 Libras by A Perfect Circle.

Great number. I don’t know why. It just makes me think of, I don’t even know, things. The life we live and how funny it all really is.

Then there’s Popular by Nada Surf.

This little jewel of a song is from, gasp, the 90’s! I totally could have confused it for some of the more emo stuff of our generation. But it’s just so funny. And tongue-in-cheek. And true. And not just for high school kids.

Finally, we have the song Teenagers by My Chemical Romance.

I never thought that I’d be a MCR fan [they struck me as a bit, I don’t know, too make-up-y?], but this song is great. And so true. Kind of a Working Class Hero for our day and age. Fight the man, rah rah! All that fun stuff [though sometimes I wonder how our generation doesn’t really fight the man all that much at all].

Well, there you have it. Some fun songs. And I even made a little stand alone application to play Radio 104.5 on my computer. Man, when I get obsessive, I get OBSESSIVE.

Enjoy the music.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

