Okay, this is random but…

July 18, 2007

[Note: Yeah, the idea from this post stems from around late April of this year. But it’s been on the backburners since then because, well, I just didn’t get around to it. But it really is something that interests me. And it was fun writing it as if its from three months ago. So, yeah, here it is. Enjoy]

I got in a conversation with Brett today about drugs. My part of the conversation generally went along the lines of, “Um, why should drugs be illegal? Oh yeah, because of cultural stigma… That’s not a very good excuse!”

I mean, have you seen some of the recent crap?! While reading [well, listening — I have a been absorbing a lot of really high quality psychology from The Happiness Hypothesis], I came across a pretty positive story about psilocybin [aka magic mushrooms, the natural form of LSD]. I don’t know why it’s gotten such a bad rap [bad trips, insanity, and uh, well, I don’t know. Most people just don’t seem to like it very much. I mean, I start talking about it in public and my friends bite my head off]. But anyway, the story talks about experiments done by Leary. Namely, a specific experiment that took place on Good Friday in a church basement. You can read all the details here.

Basically, the story says that the hallucinogens aren’t really that great. And they’re not really that bad either. They’re good when used with care, and horribly bad when used recklessly. But wait, isn’t that how everything is?

Now read this little gem from The Anti-Drug campaign. Rah rah, everyone that uses LSD goes crazy. Well, who isn’t already? It basically says that LSD will make you question your self and your perception of reality. The only way I could see that as a bad thing is if you’re married to the status quo. Which, no surprise, the government is.

Finally, here’s an article from Time magazine about all the positive uses for hallucinogens. It discusses how scientists are finding that use of psilocybin / LSD type products can reverse and sometimes even cure lifetime psychological problems like depression and OCD. This isn’t a trivial finding. Those neuroses can be debilitating to those that suffer from them. But don’t give them the drugs. My god, they might heal themselves!

It’s kind of like the irrational ban on marijuana. It’s one of the best pain killers in the world. Also one of the best stress busters. But the powers that be thrive off big pharma. Wouldn’t want a cheap, homegrown alternative.

But the most exciting part was my discovery about the structure of LSD. Yeah, here’s how to make it from lysergic acid, found in certain fungi.

Yeah, you as surprised as I am at how easy that looks? Just pop off one of those oxygens, put on a nitrogen, and tada. There you go.

Who knows, by the end of my second semester of O. Chem, I might even know how to do that.

Now THAT would be useful. ;)

Um, I don’t have much else to say. I realize most people won’t agree with me on this one. I might even make a few people angry. Such is life.

Namaste.

One Response to “Okay, this is random but…”

  1. dave in the back said

    The problem is no one is disciplined enough to actually use them to their advantage. And my purely unresearched answer is:

    You still have addiction to worry about, whether mental or physical. Personally, I would never taint my body with something that I wasn’t sure about. Not to say that it isn’t safe, but if I can alter my own thoughts without outside help, that would bring more satisfaction to me. I see your point, but my answer is meh.

Leave a Reply

