WTF [What tasty fruit?]

July 21, 2007

Wow, I was just reading through some of my thoughts on Ruminations. And I had so many more interesting ones than I have now.

I don’t know if it’s the sterility of being home [as opposed to the hustle and bustle of high school life]. Or maybe I’ve just used up all my good ideas. That doesn’t seem likely either.

I mean, I wanted to plan out a list of topics to talk about for the next week. With the premise that this would make writing posts for the next week that much easier. And then I couldn’t think of anything to talk about. Well, that’s not true. I couldn’t think of anything that I really wanted to talk about. Truth be told, I’m sick of regurgitating the things that I read. No matter how cool they may be. Like the fact that the breasts and lips of a woman are designed to mimic the buttocks and labia so that dudes will look a girl in the eyes [well, at least in the boobs] instead of just mounting her, doggy style [for more, go here and search for “Naked Ape”]. Or that this may be the best short story I’ve read in, like, forever. Or that my shins are killing me and I’m scared shitless that I’m not going to be able to run for a week and will then fall behind on my XC training.

No, I don’t really want to talk about any of those things. Or the fact that I’ve fallen in love with Switchfoot again. And that they strangely remind me of what I have in common with Fundamentalist Christians. That maybe I’m a bit of a fundamentalist myself, and that maybe that’s okay. Or maybe it’s not.

Or the fact that the universe can really suck sometimes. Like when it screws a friend over. Or when I should have done something so that friend didn’t get screwed over. Or maybe…

Maybe I do have things to say. But maybe I don’t want to say them.

Maybe this world isn’t so bad. But it doesn’t want to seem that way.

And maybe now I know the trick to having something to write. Pretend that life sucks. And then forget about that for just a moment and write about it.

It may make things right. Or it might not.

Maybe. Maybe not.

That’s life.

Leave a Reply

