Stupid Me

July 22, 2007

I find that it’s best to assume that I’ll be an idiot in the future. That I’ll somehow manage to screw up the best laid plans of mice and men. That in the brief intermission between point A and point B, I’ll manage to travel the full way around the alphabet and end up at Zed.

I don’t know how we manage to get up in the morning. And remember all the stories that we have to keep locked in our head. I don’t know how we manage to interact with the world when we’re constantly assaulted by so many different sources of confusion. Inside and outside.

So, I find it’s best to treat all future selves as blind men in the dark. As deaf men in the silence.

But didn’t I say that about this self? At some previous time?

I wonder if there’s a way to break this cycle. To step outside of the roller coaster of emotion and narcissism and just let it all go.

I suppose the most expedient path would be to just stop trying.

Everyone is a little insane. It would be insane for them not to be.

Leave a Reply

