Creating Your Own Religion in 11 or More Easy Steps – Introduction

August 6, 2007

I’ve been throwing this idea around in my head for the past few days now, and I think it’s time to shed some light on it for the general viewing public.

A recurring idea in all my ruminating has been how little I’ve actually progressed in the past 4 and a half years that I’ve spent actively trying to move forward in any sort of corny, humanistic, Da Vincian, Vetruvian Man kind of way. Self-study, something advised by everybody from the Ancient Greeks to the Stoics to the Buddhists all the way up to the latest self-help guru, is the order of the day. And I’ve been spending the past 4 and a half years totally avoiding that proscription for growth.

I mean, sure, I’ve picked up some neat-o things along the way. Like eating vegetarian [Buddhism]. Or occasionally meditating [Buddhism]. Or starting to do things now, realizing that you don’t have to be perfect the first time, or even the hundred and first time [Ze Frank]. I’ve even learned some mind hacks that make learning just a little bit easier, like using the natural learning cycle 60 minutes as a cap for studying length.

But I haven’t really improved in any sort of Super Man, Nietzschean way.

And now I know why. [more…]

Leave a Reply

