An Objective Look at Cedar Point

August 16, 2007

Now that I’ve written down the basics of the Cedar Point trip that I’d like the remember, from a flavorful dimension, time to put down the parts that I’d like to digest. That’s right, it’s time for the Analytical Mind to prod and parse the final activity of the summer into a delectable bit of wisdom.

If that wasn’t warning enough, then I’ll be more explicit: this is more for me than it is for you. I don’t imagine you’ll have any rapid realizations from reading this post, other than a deeper understanding of the thought process known as me. But if that’s your kind of thing, then by all means, read on.

I’ll get straight to the punch: I had a great time at Cedar Point, but probably for all the wrong reasons. Don’t get me wrong, the park was absolutely amazing. The rides were awesome. Probably the best I’ve ever ridden. Then again, full disclosure, I’ve only been to Six Flags [American, Great America, and Great Adventure {woah, some definite subliminal messages about ‘great’ and ‘America’ going on there}], Hershey Park, and Busch Gardens Virginia. But whatever, that’s beside the point, which I seem to be dancing around.

My point is this: I think I’m missing the part of the brain responsible for the thrill of roller coasters. Which is not the same as saying I don’t enjoy them. Sure, I like the gut wrenching drops and break neck turns. But I don’t love them. Which leads me to believe that there must be something in my brain that either never got turned on or is just out and out missing.

Which is a direct corollary to something else quite obvious about me: I don’t especially like big, flashy, loud, bumping things. Whether those be dances, pep rallies, NASCAR races, or other sports related activities. I used to think it was a people thing: lots of people = me uncomfortable. But now I think I realize that it has a lot more to do with just not being stimulated by the same things that stimulate others. The flashing lights and loud music don’t stimulate me, they annoy the heck out of me. I like shiny things as much as the next guy, but only in limited amounts.

My point being, I find amusement parks amusing, but not enough to justify all the thoroughly unamusing time spent waiting in lines. The funny thing about those parks are that if some alien from another planet showed, they wouldn’t name it an amusement park. They might name it a boring park intermittently dashed with boughts of falling. Though it does make you appreciate theme parks, where at the least they attempt to keep you entertained while waiting in line [I never realized how special Disney World is in that regard].

The high doesn’t add up to the low for me. I’d probably make a horrible drug addict: ‘All this money for that. Dude, I want a refund!’ Though this isn’t an amazing self-realization. I learned this a long time ago. My band director from the Middle School used me as an example once, while talking about dynamics. He said I tend to stay between mezzoforte and mezzopiano, so if I ever hit forte, or heaven forbid fortissimo, you know something’s wrong. Which is so very true. Just goes to show how freakin’ awesome Mr. Miller was.

And all of that said, now to the “for all the wrong reasons part.” I didn’t get a shock out of the rides, but I did have the time of my life. Mainly from being with friends. It was so very cool going on a trip as ‘adults,’ planning and preparing everything ourselves [well, I didn’t plan anything. I just got to come along because I made everything cost less. ;)], and then having it all work out. It was cool hanging out in the loooong car ride, regardless of any fighting that went on. It was fun running around the park as a gang, figuring out where and when to go. And it was fun chilling in the hotel.

It’s really funny, then, how all those things were the highlight of the trip for me.

Maybe that’s why I’m not so worried about money. Or about a great job. Or about any of those other “American Dream” things. Because I’m just not biologically put together to be a major thrill seeker. Rather, I seem to be here to enjoy the simple things.

Either that or I’m just incredibly inhibited and frigid. But I prefer the first hypothesis. Much more empowering.

I think that’s all I have left to process from the trip. Now it’s time to get my butt in gear and prepare for my sophomore year of college. Oh, how fast you have come!

Namaste.

One Response to “An Objective Look at Cedar Point”

  1. dave in the back said

    Well this kind of reminds me of myself a few years ago. I think that this is something that you kinda grow out of… or at least something that you can grow out of.

    I thought there was something missing from my brain too, but I think that all changed after a few years of sports and actually trying hard to win. You become a harder person and start liking the things that bothered you before. I dunno…. hey, that could be complete bullshit, but at least its something to look forward to and think about.

    Glad you had fun though. I had lots of fun, but I brought a little too much baggage with me. Bitches ain’t shit. Remember always.

Leave a Reply

