December 26, 2007

If you mistreat an animal, it becomes afraid. That is what happened to your psyche. You mistreated it by giving it a responsibility that is incomprehensible. Just stop for a moment and see what you have given your mind to do. You said to your mind, “I want everyone to like me. I don’t want anyone to speak badly of me. I want everything I say and do to be helpful and pleasing to everyone. I don’t want anyone to hurt me. I don’t want anything to happen that I don’t like. I want everything to happen that I do like.” Then you said, “Now, Mind, figure out how to make everyone of these things a reality, even if you have to think about it day and night.” And of course your mind said, “I’m on the job! I’ll work on it constantly!”

– From The Untethered Soul by Michael A. Singer

One Response to “”

  1. Brian said

    Thus proving, introversion makes you sane.

Leave a Reply

