It’s Not About “Free” Time

April 6, 2008

I realized something interesting lately: I enjoy life a lot more when I’m busy learning something. Usually learning something involving either math or physics, but any sort of learning will do.

However, the thing can’t be something that I’m learning in school. No, that doesn’t count. That doesn’t count at all! Why? Because I’m stupid and have convinced myself that school is ‘boring’ and not worth my attention.

But give me a course from MIT on differential equations in video format, and I’m all over that stuff!

Is that the right thing to do with my ‘free’ time? Well, what else am I going to do? I could watch TV (something I’ve been doing a lot of lately), but there’s only so much passive consumption I can take. I need to do something with my mind. And learning mathematics is a good way to do that.

And time goes by, quickly, enjoyably, and at the end of it I’ve learned something. Learning can be fun. More fun than watching TV or a movie. I won’t say more fun than reading because for me that would be blasphemy. But you get the idea.

I think I’m going to spend more of my free time in productive learning. Like learning more physics, mathematics, and programming skills. Which brings me to another thought: I don’t like learning something if it takes a lot of thought / effort. Which is pretty silly. I’m not going to get very far if I keep stopping short of pain. It’s getting through the pain that leads to the most important sorts of learning.

Yeah, just thought I’d share my thoughts. Since I haven’t written anything personal on here in a while. You may now return to your own life. :)

2 Responses to “It’s Not About “Free” Time”

  1. daveinthewest said

    Yeah… free time blows. Unless you do something with it, like build stuff or create experiments.

    Or in your case, learn math. It’s all good. Don’t forget to get out once in a while though. Get a bike and ride it. DO IT! I command you!

  2. Brian said

    Or play video games. It’s a great way to eat up all that pesky free time. Why, I wish I could play video games to solve all my problems (more than I already do).

Leave a Reply

