Wanting it to end or wanting something else?

April 17, 2008

I’ve had a hectic week up til this Thursday. I had a presentation to prepare about Dewar benzene (don’t ask) and a P Chem test to study for (you can ask about that one). Okay, really not that hectic. Other than my complete unwillingness to start the Powerpoint for the presentation because I ‘didn’t know what I want[ed] to say’ (key lesson from that one: just start saying what you think you’ll need to say, and then make the slides to go along with that… makes for an easier time and a more interesting presentation!). During the beginning of this week, all I kept thinking was, “Man, I can’t wait until Wednesday night, when all of this will be over!”

And then Wednesday night came, with all those tasks done! Nothing to do! Huzzah!

But wait, nothing to do… Having nothing to do kind of sucks. That’s when I realized I hadn’t been looking forward to doing something else so much as I was looking forward to being done doing all the school work. The schoolwork, however, did one thing well: it filled up that long day.

Now, a ‘normal’ person might go out drinking, or perhaps go on a hot date to fill in that void left by the end of a hectic week. Ha. ‘Normal.’

I decided to take up learning Python, a programming. I highly advise it to anyone interested in learning programming for the first time, or, like me, interested in taking it up again after a few years of absence mean, what other language is named after Monty Python’s Flying Circus? Even C++ doesn’t have that sort of pedigree!

Plus, it’s the language most commonly referenced at xkcd. So if you want to understand all those witty programming jokes, you’ll have to pony up and learn to code!

Besides, it beats sitting around and winning about ‘not having anything to do.’ I’ve spent enough of my life that way!

So, good luck with whatever it is that you choose to pursue with your non-work related time! Remember, active engagement beats passive consumption 9 out of 10 times! And 70% of the time, it works all the time!

Leave a Reply

