In Memoriam: Albert Hofmann

May 1, 2008

I learned today that Albert Hofmann, the Swiss chemist that discovered LSD, died two days ago of a heart attack. For a man that used a Schedule 1 drug (that’s the ‘worst’ kind, by the way. Marijuana is in the same category, to put ‘worst’ into perspective), he lived to the ripe age of 102.

Not bad. For a nice eulogy, check out the New York Times obit.

I don’t know why LSD is a schedule 1 drug. I don’t know why ecstasy is a schedule 1 drug. I don’t know why marijuana is a schedule 1 drug.

I do know that our drug laws are outrageous. But hey, when has humanity ever made sense? Found something that leads to peace love and understanding? Ban it fast! We might all stop fighting and actually get along.

:P

I’ll leave you with some words from Hofmann, when asked what he thought about death:

I go back to where I came from, to where I was before I was born, that’s all.

No truer words were ever spoken.

Rest in peace, Dr. Hofmann.

Leave a Reply

