Jesus Saves!!!

July 13, 2008

Aw man… this makes me feel sick, and I don’t know why. [It’s a pity, too, because the song’s real purty].

I mean, you could just as easily replace ‘Jesus’ with any other charismatic figure (Mao, Hitler, that guy from the Branch Davidian, L. Ron Hubbard, etc.) and have the same effect. JESUS doesn’t save [particularly]. Authority figures that take away the need for thinking save.

I guess… I guess it makes me feel so uncomfortable because I can totally sympathize with these people. But I just could never DO what they do. I can’t take the leap of faith because I see that it leads to a bottomless pit. Yeah, it would be great to have a set of rules handed down from on high and an imaginary friend that never leaves your side, but that just isn’t going to happen. And pretending otherwise is a waste of time. But even if it makes people happy?

Hm, I’ll just have to live with my existential angst. They can have their bliss. Seems like a fair trade.

And just to lighten things up, here’s one of my favorite quotes from the YouTube comments:

WOW, over 6 million hits! Hello all my fellow Christians, can’t wait til we in one accord will worship Jesus on that day. So mockers, Christianity is false and a joke huh? LOOK at the success, EVERYTHING GOD touches is Truth and will not fail. love ya’ll. never give up on him no matter how hard life gets, he’ll get us through anything as this skit shows, he is the way, the truth, and the life.

Yes, yes he will. When he smites all the non-believers and sends them into the eternal hell fire for their sins!

Now if THAT isn’t a loving god, I don’t know what is!

One Response to “Jesus Saves!!!”

  1. dave in the west said

    How can anyone say that God doesn’t exist? I proved it just now by saying that He does!

    Oh holy logic. Too bad its mostly holey and not terribly holy.

Leave a Reply

