How you spend your time…

August 17, 2008

So, I’ve discovered that I have a lot of time and don’t really feel like reading anymore. Since reading and watching TV are my default activities right now (and I’ve decided to limit my viewing time to 3 or so hours a day [wow, that’s kind of sad]), that leaves me with some writing to do. Plus, I haven’t written anything substantive here in a while. And the summer’s coming to an slow, gasping end. Why not spend the long hours putting pen to paper (or fingers to keys).

With a lot of time on my hands, I’ve been thinking a lot about time and how to spend it. Which is a mistake right there. When you have enough time to think about how you spend time, you’re doing something wrong. And I know that. And you would think that I have some or set of skillful means to get started on things so that I’m not in that situation for more than a day (instead of, say, three weeks). But nah, that would be too easy. Much more fun to thrash around, wondering, ‘What the hell am I doing with my life!’ Dramatic much?

I’ve taken a few steps towards resolving that issue. Like buying a textbook on computational science (that’s about the only academic interest that I seem to be able to work myself up about, which I guess is a good sign, because it seems to indicate I’ve found something I’m really interested in and could pursue should all the higher institutes of learning suddenly disappear). And, well, that’s about it. I guess doing this counts. Yeah, writing.

I keep having the same general idea running through my head every day. It goes something like this.

Voice 1: Hey, you should, like, do something. I mean, the time is going to pass either way. Why not make something out of it?

Voice 2: Yeah, I mean, I could do that. Or I could watch another episode of this TV show. Yeah, I think I’ll do that.

Voice 1: Do you really think that’s a good idea? I mean, you’ll get all vicariously entertained by that for the 42 minutes of the show, but then what after that?

Voice 2: I don’t know, I guess I’ll deal with that when it comes. But for now…

Voice 3: Did someone say Vicarious? Yeah, Tool!!!!

Voice 1: Um, okay. Whatever you say. Just don’t expect to feel to good about yourself at the end of the day.

Voice 2: Okie dokie.

Voice 4: Hey, where’d all the ice cream go?

Sometimes I wonder if I expect a little too much from life. Yeah, that.

For the moment, though, I think I’ll listen to voice 2. That guy seems to have something interesting in mind.

One Response to “How you spend your time…”

  1. daveinthewest said

    Hahaha… where’s all the ice cream!!!! If you’re at all interested in computational science, I would highly recommend installing some type of linux on your computer. If you ever learn how to make it work, you’ll be a beast at understanding how a computer works because EVERYTHING is manual and editable in the linux operating system.

Leave a Reply

