My Present Life Status (Academically, at least)

October 29, 2008

So, I haven’t actually WRITTEN anything on here that amounted to more than a snippet of text or an assignment from creative writing. Which is kind of strange. I don’t know. Maybe I’ve just moved on to a different stage of my life that’s less reflective and more projective. I’m okay with that. Though I do miss thinking for thinking’s sake.

Anyway, I thought I’d write down some of my thoughts about where my life is going in terms of school (which, when I think about it, is where my life’s going in general, since I don’t really have ‘life’ outside of school [you know what I mean!]).

I’ve recently decided to drop my chem major down to a minor, pick up a physics minor, and use math as my ‘real’ major. Probably a dumb choice. Probably a choice I’ll change 10 more times before I graduate (although I’m starting to realize that the chances for changing without consequences are getting fewer and farther between… what, I’m graduating next year?!).

But I’m sick of chemistry. Honestly, it’s kind of sad I didn’t realize this a lot sooner. Well, I did realize it, but I just didn’t act on it. And now it’s almost too late. This is the final hour. I change now, or forever hold my peace. And wonder for the rest of my life why I didn’t just go and stop being stupid for one second.

I mean, I should have figured it out my sophomore year. Heck, the end of my freshman year. But the funny thing is, when you’re not looking for solutions, the only available solutions tend to suck. So I stuck with chem. Even though I’ve hated chem labs since high school. Even though I had less than a loving relationship with organic chemistry. Even though all signs pointed to ‘hey, there isn’t enough math here!’ D’oh. And duh!

And then last week, I had the epiphany that it doesn’t have to be this way. I don’t have to get a chem major. I don’t know why I felt like I owed the world that. Or that I owed myself that. I don’t know what possible line of reasoning lead me down that path. I can get a job with a math major. I can get into grad school with a math major. And then I don’t have to fritter away in stupid pointless labs that will do absolutely NOTHING for my future endeavors / careers and just leave me more frustrated with myself.

Anyway, long story short, again, no more chem major. I’m sad to see it go. But in a way, I’m also breathing a giant sigh of relief!

So here’s my preliminary schedule for next semester:

Advanced Physical Chemistry

Computational Physics

Abstract Algebra

Islamic Mysticism (because I do still go to a liberal arts college, afterall…)

Mind, Matter, and Magic (it’s about the scientific revolution. Basically, I have to defend science from the clutches of the silly humanities majors)

No lab. The only chemistry course will be chock full of math. And then there’s physics and math. This, my friend, is what I should have been doing all along.

Hindsight is twenty twenty. I shouldn’t have took that many (chemistry classes).

One Response to “My Present Life Status (Academically, at least)”

  1. daveinthewest said

    Haha, this warms my heart, Dave. I was getting a little depressed for you when you kept telling me how cool my major was compared to yours. My major is cool because I like what I do, lol.

    Though, I will say that if allll you want to do is math, then you should have considered being an electrical engineer because I get to eat all of the math candy I want. Electrical engineering “IS” math. Here are the parts, they have these properties. How can you arrange them to make this mathematical function?

    I wish you luck with your future endeavors, even if you do decide to change your mind.

Leave a Reply

